DNRC provides the following support to Montana Regional Water Systems:
  • Maintaining contacts with the local system authorities.
  • Administer State grants to the regional water authorities.
  • Ensuring participation by State agencies involved in review and/or implementation.
  • Liaison work to Tribal governments and Federal governmental agencies.
  • Providing a contact for those with questions about regional water.
Learn more about Montana's Regional Water Systems:

Montana Regional Water Systems

Fort Peck Dry Prairie Rural Water System

The Fort Peck-Dry Prairie Regional Water System is in the northeastern-most portion of the state. The Fort Peck Reservation segments will be paid for totally by the Federal government, while the off-Reservation portions in Roosevelt, Sheridan, Daniels and eastern Valley Counties will receive a 76% Federal grant. Click Here for more information.
Contact Information
Fort Peck Dry Prairie Rural Water System
P.O. Box 577
Culbertson, MT 59218
Website Link

Rocky Boy's North Central Montana Regional Water System

The Rocky Boy's - North Central Montana Rural Water System was authorized by Congress in November 2002. The system will serve an estimated population of 28,000, both on the Rocky Boy's Reservation and in numerous non-Reservation systems located in six north central Montana counties.
Contact information
North Central Montana Regional Water Authority
P.O. Box 2456
Havre, MT 59501
(406) 594-7115
Website Link

Musselshell-Judith Regional Water System

A third regional water system in Montana was authorized by Congress in December, 2020, and will cover In portions of Judith Basin, Fergus, Wheatland, Golden Valley, Musselshell and Yellowstone Counties. The Central Montana Regional Water Authority, established in 2005, began construction of its Phase I water supply pipeline from the Ubet wellfield situated northwest of Judith Gap to the Town of Harlowton in 2022.
Contact information
Central Montana Regional Water System
P.O. Box 660
Roundup, MT 59072
(406) 323-6060
Website Link

Dry-Redwater Regional Water Authority

A fourth project would provide regional water to portions of Garfield, McCone, Richland, Dawson and Prairie Counties. The Dry-Redwater Regional Water Authority was established in mid-2005. The same Federal legislation which authorized the Musselshell-Judith Regional system also directs the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation to update previous reports and to complete a feasibility study for the Dry-Redwater System by December 2025.

Contact information
Dry-Redwater Regional Water Authority
P.O. Box 276
Circle, MT 59215
(406) 485-3792
Website Link


Contact Us

Rick Duncan
406-461-7948 (cell)