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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION 

Cabin/Home Site Sale Procedure Disclosure Form 
 

This disclosure form summarizes much of the land banking procedure from nomination to closing but it is not a 

complete source or the only source of information. Additional process information is available from the 

Department. Terms in the Agreement to Sell Improvements, Cabin/Home Site Offer to Purchase and Bid Deposit 

Receipt, and the Cabin/Home Site General Terms and Conditions of Sale Form override any statements in this 

disclosure form. All applicable Administrative Rules of Montana and applicable laws of the State of Montana 

override any statements in this disclosure form. 
 

The DNRC cannot provide you with any legal advice.  If you have any questions regarding the legal implications 

of moving forward with the nomination process, you should engage the services of a private attorney before 

returning the Nomination Form.                                      

 

Please read the entire document.  If you have questions about an item, ask for clarification before initialing the 

line. The person(s) initialing this disclosure form has read the statements and understands the disclosures made.   

Sign where indicated at the bottom of the back page to show that you have read the form and understand the 

disclosures. 

 

___ 1) If, during the course of the sale process, the Department discovers that the parcel proposed for sale does 

not qualify for sale, the department reserves the right to withdraw the parcel from sale.   

 

___ 2) If a parcel is removed from sale consideration by the Department you have 15 days from the date of the 

Department’s notification to you to appeal the Department decision to the State Board of Land Commissioners  

and the Land Board will make the final determination of whether or not to sell the parcel. 

 

___ 3) If you are the current lessee of the land nominated for sale, you have the right to withdraw from the sale 

process at anytime up to 10 days prior to the auction date.    

 

___ 4) Improvements owners, who are no longer the lessees, do not have the right to withdraw the parcel from 

sale once it has been nominated. 

 

___ 5) This sale must receive preliminary approval from the Board of Land Commissioners (Land Board) in order 

for the sale process to commence. 

 

___ 6) After the lessee or improvement owner submits the $100 nomination fee, signed Nomination Form and 

Disclosure Form, the Department will provide the lessee/improvements owner a list of no less than two acceptable 

appraisers to conduct the appraisal for both the land and the improvements.  The lessee or improvement owner 

will select 50% of the appraisers on the list.  The Department will solicit for bids to the selected appraisers.   The 

Department will choose from the responding appraisers to conduct the appraisal. 

 

 

STATE OF MONTANA 
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___ 7) You will be notified of the estimated processing costs that will be required in order to move forward with 

the sale process, (including but not limited to appraisal attributable to the improvements under consideration for 

sale on the state-owned lease site, cultural survey, indirect costs pursuant M.C.A. §17-1-106, etc.), and you will 

have 10 days after the Department’s notification to submit payment for such processing costs. These costs are 

estimated and may vary from actual expenses.  Upon receipt payment for the estimated processing costs, the 

Department will contract for the appraisal.  

 

___ 8) If you are the current lessee, and do not want to pay the processing costs and/or do not want to proceed 

with the sale process, you must notify the Department in writing, either by letter or email, and the parcel will be 

removed from consideration for sale. Once costs are incurred in the sale process, limited, if any, refunds can be 

made.  

 

___ 9) Parcels with legal access are appraised as such. Parcels without legal access are appraised as if they had 

legal access. The appraiser will provide separate values for the state owned land and non-state owned 

improvements under consideration for sale.  Once the appraisal has been reviewed by the Department the 

lessee/improvements owner will be notified of the appraised value(s). 

 

___ 10) If you do not agree with the recommended values, you must notify the Department in writing within 10 

days of the Department notification of the appraised values if you wish to be granted an informal administrative 

hearing before the Department to dispute the values. If you are the current lessee and have initiated the sale and 

submitted the estimated processing costs, you may remove the parcel from the sale process, and the existing lease 

continues under the present terms. If any estimated processing cost funds remain, they will be refunded. If actual 

expenses exceed estimates you will be billed. 

 

___ 11) The Department will present to the Land Board the appraisal and appraisal review along with the 

Department’s findings, conclusions and recommended values from the informal administrative hearing, if any. 

The Land Board will then set the minimum bid for the land and the maximum value of the improvements under 

consideration for sale.  If you are the current lessee and choose to remove the parcel from the sale process, you 

must notify the department in writing that you wish to withdraw the parcel from the sale process.  The existing 

lease will continue under the present terms. If any estimated processing cost funds remain, they will be refunded. 

If actual expenses exceed estimates you will be billed. 

 

___ 12) If, after the Land Board has set the minimum bid for the land and the maximum value of the 

improvements, you wish to move forward with the sale and consent to the terms and conditions of the proposed 

sale, you must complete an Agreement to Sell Improvements contract.  The Agreement to Sell Improvements 

contract will include the terms of the improvements sale, including maximum value of the improvements (see 

#11), and marketing obligations. You will be contractually obligated to transfer any and all interest in the 

improvements upon the lease lot, with clear title, should you not be the highest bidder at auction.   

 

___ 13) Current Lessee/improvements owner will be required to allow reasonable access for prospective bidders 

to view the potential sale parcel and improvements under consideration for sale. 

 

___ 14) All parcels are sold through a public auction in the county where the land is located. The Department will 

set a date and time for the auction.  All qualified bidders, must appear in person or designate a legal representative 

to appear and bid on their behalf.  The Department shall, at a minimum, publish the notice of the auction in a 

newspaper of general circulation in said county once a week for at least four consecutive weeks preceding the due 

date for bid deposits, and will post the cabin or home site on the Department website.   

 

___ 15) All qualified bidders, including the current lessee or improvements owner, shall submit an Offer to 

Purchase Form along with a bid deposit, by certified check or electronic funds transfer drawn on any Montana 

bank, equal to or greater than 5% of the minimum bid amount for the land only. Said bid deposit must be 

postmarked no later than 20 days before the auction, and must be received by the Department 15 days prior to the 

auction (see item #18). The Offer to Purchase Form will be available online after the Land Board sets the 

minimum bid (per item #11).  The form will also be mailed by the Department directly to the lessee or 

improvements owner who nominated the sale.   
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___ 16) It is your responsibility to verify whether any additional bid deposits have been received by the 

Department if you are concerned about competitive bidding.  If you are the current lessee and have initiated the 

sale and submitted the estimated processing costs and wish to remove the parcel from the sale process, you must 

notify the Department in writing by Certified Mail so that notice is received by the Department no less than 10 

days before the date of the auction (see #18). If you remove the parcel from the sale process, the existing lease 

continues under the present terms. All costs incurred in preparing the parcel for sale will be paid out of the money 

submitted for estimated processing costs and the bid deposit.  Any funds, submitted for estimated processing costs 

or bid deposit, remaining will be returned to the lessee.  If actual expenses exceed estimates you will be billed. 

 

___  17) If the current lessee fails to notify the Department in writing by Certified Mail no less than 10 days 

before the date of the auction, the auction will not be cancelled.   Improvements owners, who are no longer the 

current lessee, do not have the right to withdraw the parcel from sale. 

 

___ 18) You are responsible for meeting established deadlines for any submission or notification to the 

Department.  If you are sending mail from a location that is expected to have slow mail service to the Department 

for any reason (from outside of the U.S., outside of Montana, or other reason), you are responsible for ensuring 

the department receives your mail in the established timeframe.  This may require sending submissions or notices 

through expedited mail delivery. 

 

___  19)  All bidding is done by oral bid on the date of auction.  Bidding will begin with the competitive bidder(s) 

submitting a bid of no less than the minimum bid amount listed in the auction notice.  Bids for less than the 

minimum will not be accepted.  Bidding will continue until the competitive bidders no longer wish to raise the 

bid.  The Department representative conducting the auction will then ask the current lessee if they wish to 

exercise their lessee preference right to match the high bid.  If the current lessee chooses to exercise that right, the 

bidding may begin again if the competitive bidders wish to bid a higher amount.  The bidding only stops when the 

competitive bidders wish to cease bidding and/or the current lessee chooses not to match the high bid. 

 

___ 20) The sale will be presented to the Land Board for final approval.  The Land Board has the final say on 

approving or disapproving of the sale. If the Land Board does not approve the sale, the successful bidder is not 

responsible for processing costs.  

 

___ 21) The parcel is sold to the highest bidder who consummates the terms of the sale (successful purchaser). 

The current lessee has the right to match the high bid at the oral auction.  The owner of the improvements (if no 

longer the current lessee) does not have the right to match the high bid.  The Department retains the bid deposit of 

the highest bidder and will return bid deposits of all unsuccessful bidders within 15 business days of the auction. 

If the highest bidder fails to comply with the terms of the sale, for any reason, and thus fails to consummate the 

sale, the bidder’s bid deposit is forfeited unless the next higher bidder or a subsequent bidder, in sequence of bid 

amount, agrees to the terms of the sale and finalizes the sale. 

 

___ 22) If the successful purchaser is not the owner of the improvements, the owner of the improvements will be 

obligated to transfer any and all interest in the improvements upon the lease lot, with clear title, per the 

Agreement to Sell Improvements contract (See #12).  The purchaser shall compensate the owner of the 

improvements no more than the maximum value of the improvements set by the Land Board (see #11).  The 

owner of the improvements may choose to accept an amount less than the value set by the Land Board, but not 

more.  The sale/purchase of the improvements must be completed prior to closing on the land.   

 

___ 23) All state trust land property is sold in “AS IS” condition.  “As is” means that the buyer accepts the 

property in its present condition.  The buyer takes the property at his or her own risk, without recourse against the 

seller for its condition or faults, whether the faults are apparent or not.  No express or implied warranty(ies) will 

be provided by the Department with the sale.  The failure of any bidder to inspect, or to be fully informed as to the 

condition of all or any portion of the property offered will not constitute grounds for any claim or demand for 

adjustment, reimbursement or withdrawal of a bid after the close of the auction.   

 



 

4 | P a g e  
 

___ 24) Title to the land is granted by a patent, grant or quit claim deed. No warranty deed is issued. The state 

does not furnish title insurance. 

 

___ 25) Mineral rights are reserved by the state in accordance with M.C.A. §77-2-304. 

 

___ 26) The State does not guarantee access.  As part of the sale process, the state will convey any access that it 

may have and can convey to provide access to the cabin site or home site.  The State does not provide road 

maintenance.  Purchasers may be required to join a road user’s association.  
 

 

 

By signing this document, you indicate that you have read the form and understand the disclosures therein. 
 

 

 

 

              

Lessee/Improvement’s Owner Signature:                                      Date 

Printed Name 
 

 

              

Lessee/Improvement’s Owner Signature:                                      Date 

Printed Name 
 

              

Lessee/Improvement’s Owner Signature:                                      Date 

Printed Name 
 

              

Lessee/Improvement’s Owner Signature:                                      Date 

Printed Name 
 

              

Lessee/Improvement’s Owner Signature:                                      Date 

Printed Name 
 

              

Lessee/Improvement’s Owner Signature:                                      Date 

Printed Name 
 

 

 


