West's Colorado Revised Statutes Annotated

Title 37. Water and Irrigation

Water Rights and Irrigation

Water Right Determination and Administration

Article 92. Water Right Determination and Administration (Refs & Annos)

Part 2. Water Divisions--Courts (Refs & Annos)

C.R.S.A. § 37-92-201

§ 37-92-201. Water divisions

Effective: August 5, 2009

Currentness

- (1) For the purposes of this article, the following water divisions are hereby established:
- (a) Division 1: Division 1 consists of all lands in the state of Colorado in the drainage basins of the South Platte river, the Big Laramie river, the Arikaree river, the north and south forks of the Republican river, the Smokey Hill river, Sandy and Frenchman creeks, and streams tributary to said rivers and creeks.
- (b) Division 2: Division 2 consists of all lands in the state of Colorado in the drainage basins of the Arkansas river and the Dry Cimarron river, and streams tributary to said rivers.
- (c) Division 3: Division 3 consists of all lands in the state of Colorado in the drainage basin of the Rio Grande and all of its tributaries, and all lands in the drainage basins of the San Luis creek, Saguache creek, Tuttle creek, Carnero creek, La Garita creek, Sand or Medano creek, Big Spring creek, Little Spring creek, Mosca creek, Sierra Blanca creek, and all of their tributaries, and all lands in the drainage basins of all other creeks between Trinchera creek and Sand or Medano creek, and lands in the drainage basins of all other creeks which have their sources of water supply in the La Garita mountains and flow eastward into the San Luis valley.
- (d) Division 4: Division 4 consists of all lands in the state of Colorado in the drainage basins of the Gunnison river and all of its tributaries, the Little Dolores river, the San Miguel river, and that portion of the Dolores river and its tributaries north of the north township line of Township 45 North, New Mexico Principal Meridian.
- (e) Division 5: Division 5 consists of all lands in the state of Colorado in the drainage basins of the Colorado river and all of its tributaries arising within Colorado, with the exception of the Gunnison river.
- (f) Division 6: Division 6 consists of all lands in the state of Colorado in the drainage basins of the White river, the Yampa or Bear river, the Green river, the North Platte river, and all of their tributaries.

(g) Division 7: Division 7 consists of all lands located in the southwest corner of the state of Colorado and in the drainage basins of the San Juan river, Rio Piedra, Rio Las Animas, Los Pinos river, La Plata river, Rio Mancos and streams tributary to said rivers and creeks as well as that portion of the Dolores river and its tributaries lying south of the north line of Township 45 North, New Mexico Principal Meridian.

Credits

Amended by Laws 2009, Ch. 6, § 1, eff. Aug. 5, 2009.

Notes of Decisions (5)

C. R. S. A. § 37-92-201, CO ST § 37-92-201

Current through the First Extraordinary Session of the 74th General Assembly (2023).

End of Document

© 2024 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.