

2023 Northwest Compact

Member Agency Administrative Procedures

The Northwest Wildland Fire Protection Agreement (Northwest Compact) was created in 1998. The purpose of the Northwest Compact is to promote effective prevention, presuppression, suppression and control of forest fires in the Northwest wildland region of the United States and Western areas of Canada.

The Northwest Compact (NWC) provides a way for member states, provinces and territories to cope with wildland fires that might be beyond the capabilities of a single member agency, through information, technology and resources sharing activities. The NWC members develop procedures that will facilitate and coordinate the sharing of information, technology and resources in order to mitigate and manage the effect of wildland fires in a safe, effective and efficient manner through the compact area of responsibility. This document identifies processes and procedures to facilitate administrative functioning of the NWC members. Public Law 105.377 (105th Congress) 112 Stat, 3391

<u>Membership</u>

The NWC operates under the direction of its members. The member states/provinces/territories are:

United States of America

Alaska Washington Montana Idaho Oregon

Canada

Alberta Saskatchewan British Columbia Yukon Territory Northwest Territories Each member organization will designate a single voting representative to the member agencies. Terms are indefinite and may be determined by the individual member organization for its representative.

Officers

Chair

The Chair will be from the member agencies and serve for a two (2) year term. The Vice Chair will assume the role of Chair for the forward two (2) year period following their twoyear term as Vice-Chair or if the Chair cannot serve. Transfer of the Chair occurs at the end of the annual Compact meeting.

Vice Chair

The Vice-Chair will serve for a term of two years. The Vice-Chair position will be selected on a rotational basis from the membership. The schedule is set out in Appendix I.

Duties/Responsibilities

Chair of the NWC:

- a) Call for meetings of the member agencies. These may be routinely scheduled meetings or ad-hoc meetings/calls at the request of member agencies.
- b) Chair annual meetings of the Compact
- c) Provide direction and guidance to sub-committees and appoint such additional subcommittees as may be necessary to carry out the business of the Compact.
- d) Make recommendations as may be appropriate in improving the effectiveness and efficiency of the Compact in meeting its mandates.
- e) Represent the NWC at any function or meeting of such agencies, Compact, associations or groups that deal in whole or in part with problems, programs, or issues in which the NWC has an interest and would benefit from such representation.

Vice-Chair of the NWC:

- a) Serve as Chair in the absence or disability of the elected Chair, with all the power and authority of the Chair's office.
- b) Assist the Chair with Compact activities.
- c) Perform other tasks as assigned by the Chair.

Decision Making

A majority of members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of general business of the member agencies.

- Unless provided by otherwise, decisions will be made by a simple majority of the voting members present.
- Voting shall be by state/province/territory with each signatory having one vote.
- Tabled items of issue or business will be carried by a majority vote.
- If a member is unable to make a conference call, they will provide a short written update to the chair prior to the call.

Addition of New Members

- The addition of new members to the Compact must receive unanimous approval from member agencies.
- The addition of new members to the Compact must be verified through an invitation by letter from the NWC inviting a state/province/territory to join the Compact.
- The invited state/province/territory will become a member by responding to the letter of invitation positively, in writing, signed by an appropriate authority and signing of the Participation and Approval statement included under the Northwest Wildland Protection Agreement.

<u>Records</u>

Official records and documents will be maintained by a state/province/territory as agreed upon by the member agencies. Historical records, as of 2010, will be maintained by the State of Washington, until another location is agreed upon by the member agencies.

• The record keeping responsibilities will reside with the Chair person and the responsibility will rotate will the Chair person or its delegation. Electronic copies of new or updated documents will be shared with all members.

<u>Meetings</u>

Regularly scheduled calls of the NW Compact will be decided by the members based upon need and fire activity. At any time, a member organization can request a call through the Chair. For all conference calls, the responsibility for note taking will lie with the Chair. At a minimum, one in-person meeting will be required by the Compact. For this meeting, note taking and documentation will be the responsibility of the host agency.

Appendix	1	-	Rotation	Schedule
----------	---	---	----------	----------

Year	Vice-Chair (Commences May	Chair (Commences May	Spring meeting
fear	1st)	1st)	location
2011	Alaska	Yukon	Whitehorse, YK
2012	NWT	Alaska	Anchorage, AK
2012	Saskatchewan	Montana	Prince Albert, SK
2014	Saskatchewan	Montana	Billings, MT
2015	Washington	Saskatchewan	Yellowknife, NWT
2016	Washington	Saskatchewan	SUN Valley, WA
2017	British Columbia	Washington	Kamloops, BC
2018	British Columbia	Washington	Portland, OR
2019	Alberta	Oregon	Bend, OR
2020	Alberta	Washington	Alberta (Virtual)
2021	Montana	Saskatchewan	Idaho (Virtual)
2022	Montana	Saskatchewan	Whitehorse, YK
2023	NWT	Montana	Idaho
2024	NWT	Montana	Saskatchewan
2025	Idaho	NWT	Alaska
2026	Idaho	NWT	Northwest Territories
2027	Yukon	Idaho	Montana
2028	Yukon	Idaho	British Columbia
2029	Alaska	Yukon	Washington
2030	Alaska	Yukon	Alberta
2031	British Columbia	Alaska	Oregon
2032	British Columbia	Alaska	Yukon
2033	Washington	British Columbia	Idaho
2034	Washington	British Columbia	Saskatchewan
2035	Alberta	Washington	Alaska
2036	Alberta	Washington	Northwest Territories
2037	Oregon	Alberta	Montana
2038	Oregon	Alberta	British Columbia

Appendix 2-Official Logo

