Who We Are

Headquartered in Missoula, MT, the Forestry Division is responsible for planning and implementing forestry and fire management programs through an extensive network of staff located in field and unit offices across the state. 

Forestry Division consists of three bureaus:Fire Protection Bureau, Forestry Assistance Bureau and Good Neighbor Authority that execute the Montana Forestry Action plan, business management, and policy planning and outreach.

Fire Protection Bureau

Provides resources, leadership and coordination to Montana's wildfire services and landowners with efforts focused primarily on:

Prevention and Preparedness Equipment Development
Fire Business County Coop Program
Wildfire Risk Reduction Fire Protection Assessments
Wildfire Suppression  Training & Jobs

Forestry Assistance Bureau

Works to maintain and improve the health of Montana's forests, watersheds, and the communities that depend on them, with efforts focused primarily in the following programs:

Forest Insects & Diseases Forest Practices
Forest Stewardship Urban & Community Forestry
Forest Products Conservation Nursery
Montana Forest Action Plan

Good Neighbor Authority

Through the Good Neighbor Authority, the Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation partners with the USDA Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management, and other partners to plan and implement forest restoration projects on federal lands that address shared priorities.