
 HB39 REQUIREMENTS  
Water Right Ownership Update Automation 

  
(Effective July 1, 2008)  

 
1. FOR SELLERS:  

 
When completing the Realty Transfer Certificate (RTC) disclose whether the 
property for sale has water rights that transfer with the land in Part 7.  

a. Check the appropriate box  
i. Box A. – The property is served by a municipality, public water 

supply or other public system and there is no private well on the 
property. The water rights would be in the name of the municipality 
or public system. Therefore there are no water rights to transfer.  

ii. Box B. – There are no water rights on record at the DNRC that are 
transferring with the property. If there is a well on the property but 
no water right in DNRC records, contact the Water Resource 
Regional Office who serves the county in which the property is 
located to determine if a water right is needed.  

iii. Box C. – The water rights on record at the DNRC do transfer with 
the property. The update of DNRC ownership records of the water 
rights will be automated through the Dept. of Revenue. The 
ownership update fee must be paid at closing. Submit the fee to the 
address at the bottom.  

iv. Box D. – The seller has divided the water rights or exempted 
(reserved) them from the property sale.  

1. Divided – If the water rights are being divided among 
subdivided parcels, the seller must complete Form 641 
DNRC Ownership Update - Divided Interest and submit it 
with the ownership update filing fee to DNRC within 5 days of 
filing the deed. If the deed is in escrow, the Certification of 
Water Right Ownership Update (page 5 of RTC) must be 
completed by the seller, buyer and closing agent.  

2. Exempted - If the water rights are exempt from the sale of the 
property they are not being transferred to the buyer. If the 
water rights are not being sold with the land, the deed must 
specifically state so on its face. Form 642 DNRC Ownership 
Update-Exempt (Reserved) Water Right must be completed 
and filed with the filing fee to the DNRC within 5 days of the 
recording of the deed. If the deed is in escrow, the 
Certification of Water Right Ownership Update (page 5 of 
RTC) must be completed by the seller, buyer and closing 
agent.  

3. Mail Form 641 and 642 and fee to your local Water Resource 
Regional Office. Their contact information can be found at: 

b. Sign and date the disclosure section.  
www.dnrc.mt.gov/field_operations/regionaloffices/  

 
 



2. FOR BUYERS:  
 

If the buyer is receiving water right(s) with the property, they should know which 
water rights they are receiving. Discuss this with the seller before closing. The best 
time is before any Buy-Sell Agreement is signed so they know which, if any, water 
rights they are receiving.  
 
3. FOR REALTORS:  

 
Any written agreement to transfer land with water rights must include the following 
statement.  

a. “Water Rights Ownership Update Disclosure: By Montana law, failure of the 
parties at closing or transfer of real property to pay the required fee to the 
Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation for updating 
water right ownership may result in the transferee of the property being 
subject to a penalty. Additionally, in the case of water rights being 
exempted, severed, or divided, the failure of the parties to comply with 
section 85-2-424

 

, MCA, could result in a penalty against the transferee 
and rejection of the deed for recording."  

b. It is recommended to discuss and determine prior to a sale if water rights 
are appurtenant to the land for sale. Research of the water rights can be 
done at this website: http://nris.mt.gov/dnrc/waterrights/default.aspx 

 

You 
can also contact the Water Resource Regional Office who serves the 
county in which the property is located to determine what water rights are 
appurtenant to the property or, if you find no water rights but there is a well 
on the property, what if any form is needed to be filed to obtain a water 
right.  

4. FOR CLOSING AGENTS: (OR OTHERS WHO CLOSE ON PROPERTY SALES)  
 

At closing, when the Realty Transfer Certificate is completed, ensure the seller 
completes Part 7. Water Right Disclosure.  

 
a. If Box C is checked, collect the ownership update filing fee and submit it to 

the DNRC with the following information: the buyer’s name and address, 
the seller’s name and address, the geocode, the water right numbers 
being transferred, and the amount of the fee. Please use the filing fee log 
sheet at the following website to submit with the fees. 

b. If 
www.dnrc.mt.gov/wrd/water_rts/HB39/  
Box D

 

. is checked, the Form 641 or 642 must be completed and 
submitted with the ownership update fee within 5 days of filing the deed. If 
the deed is in escrow, the Certification of Water Right Ownership Update 
(page 5 of the RTC) must be signed by the seller, buyer and closing agent. 
The Clerk and Recorder cannot accept the deed for filing without the 
Certification Form being completed and submitted with the deed.  

 
 



5. FOR CLERK AND RECORDERS:  
 

Review the RTC form being submitted with the deed for recording. If Box D. is 
checked, the Certification of Water Right Ownership Update (page 5 of the RTC) must 
be completed and submitted with the deed in order for the deed to be recorded. If the 
Certification is not completed the deed cannot be recorded. Refer any questions to our 
Water Resource Regional Office serving your county. Their contact information is 
available at: 
 

www.dnrc.mt.gov/field_operations/regionaloffices/Default.asp  

 

 
OWNERSHIP UPDATE FEES  

Water Right Ownership Automated Update  
$50.00 for the first water right plus $10.00 for each additional water right updated, 
not to exceed a maximum of $300.00.  
 
MAIL TO: OWNERSHIP UPDATE, DNRC, PO BOX 201601, HELENA, MT 59620-1601 
  
Form No. 641, DNRC Ownership Update, Divided Interest (use for a water right 
that will be divided: $50.00  
Form No. 642, DNRC Ownership Update, Exempt (Reserved) / Severed Water 
Right (use for a water right that will be exempted [reserved] or severed from the 
land and the seller will retain ownership of the water right): $50.00  
 
MAIL FORM AND FEE TO: LOCAL WATER RESOURCE REGIONAL OFFICE  


