Personal tools

Return to Top
DNRC Headquarters
1539 Eleventh Ave. Helena, MT 59601
Questions? Email us

Logging Slash Reduction


Slash Pile

 

The Control of Timber Slash and Debris Law (Title 76, Chapter 13, Part 4), commonly referred to as the “Slash” Law is one of Montana’s oldest laws regulating forest practices. The law’s history dates back to the early 1900’s when it was recognized that timber harvesting slash represented a significant fire hazard.

The Hazard Reduction Agreement (HRA)

Currently the law requires that “the person conducting the work” (usually the landowner or operator) enter into a bonded contract agreement and is referred to as the “contractor”. That agreement, known as a Fire Hazard Reduction Agreement, requires that logging slash be reduced to acceptable state standards. Furthermore the law requires sawmills and other purchasers of forest products to obtain proof that the seller of the forest products (the contractor) have such an agreement and that the mills withhold certain funds and transfer those funds to the state which then becomes the bond.

The DNRC monitors these agreements and releases the bond on completion of the hazard reduction work. The DNRC also has the responsibility to “…complete, direct or authorize the fire hazard reduction…” should the contractor fail to comply with the law.

Slash BurnThe Control of Timber Slash and Debris Law pertains to all private lands in the State of Montana.

 

An HRA is a bonded agreement between the DNRC and either the person conducting the work to reduce the hazard created from logging debris to state standards.

 For more information on this program, contact your local Service Forester or Program Manager Roger Ziesak at (406)542-4338.

 


 

The following information has been mailed to all Hazard Reduction Agreement holders.  This is also being posted here as an informational announcement for the general public:

NOTICE OF HRA FEE INCREASE

Our records indicate that you currently have an active or open Hazard Reduction Agreement (HRA).  This notice is being sent to inform you of upcoming fee increases.  HB 119 was signed into law by Governor Bullock in the 2019 Legislative session, resulting in increases to the Hazard Reduction Agreement (HRA) fee and the MSU Extension Forestry fee, which will increase beginning July 1, 2019.  The fee increases are summarized below:

  • Hazard Reduction Agreement (HRA) administrative fee is increasing from $.60 to $.85 per 1,000 board feet (MBF) of timber sold.
  • MSU Extension Forestry fee is increasing from $.15 to $.30 per 1,000 board feet (MBF) of timber sold. 
  • The slash bond will remain unchanged at $6.00 per 1,000 board feet (MBF) of timber sold. 

The above changes will result in the amount withheld by forest products mills buying your logs to increase from $6.75/MBF to $7.15/MBF.  If you are selling by the ton, the new withholding rate will be $1.03/Ton.  Piece counts will no longer be used for reporting.  These new rates will start July 1, 2019 for all deliveries of wood products to any purchasing mill.

If you have any questions, please contact your local Service Forester or contact Roger Ziesak at (406)542-4338.   A list of Service Foresters can be found on our website at http://dnrc.mt.gov/divisions/forestry/forestry-assistance.  Thank you.

Contact

ROGER ZIESAK
2705 Spurgin Road
Missoula, MT 59804
406-542-4338