Personal tools

Return to Top
DNRC Headquarters
1539 Eleventh Ave. Helena, MT 59601
Questions? Email us


forest on mountains

The Forestry Division, headquartered in Missoula, is responsible for planning and implementing forestry and fire management programs through an extensive network of staff located in field offices across the state. The Forestry Division has four major functions: fire protection, forestry assistance, business management, and policy, planning & outreach. Following is a brief description of the programs, products and services offered through the Forestry Division's diverse programs: 

Fire Protection

Provides resources, leadership and coordination to Montana's wildfire services and landowners, with efforts focused primarily in the following programs:


Forestry Assistance

Works to maintain and improve the health of Montana's forests, watersheds, and the communities that depend on them, with efforts focused primarily in the following programs:


Forestry Division Office

Ensures Forestry Division business functions are efficient and comply with all state and federal policies and procedures. Additionally, the Forestry Division Office coordinates DNRC facilities management statewide. The Forestry Division Office efforts focus primarily in the following programs:

  • Budget Management, Reporting and Executive Planning
  • Fiscal Services
  • Federal Grant Management
  • Contract Management
  • Fire Suppression Finance
  • Human Resource Assistance
  • Facilities Management
  • Administrative Services







2705 Spurgin Road, Missoula, MT 59804
Phone: (406) 542-4300
Fax: (406) 542-4217