Personal tools

Return to Top
DNRC Headquarters
1539 Eleventh Ave. Helena, MT 59601
Questions? Email us

MISC Members, Partners and Committees

MISC Council Members

  • Bryce Christiaens, Chair
    Missoula County Weed District Manager
  • Steve Wanderaas, Vice Chair 
    McCone County Conservation District
  • Tom Woolf, Vice Chair
    AIS Bureau Chief, Fish, WIldlife & Parks

  • Bruce Anderson
    Blaine County
  • David Brooks
    Executive Director, Montana Trout Unlimited
  • Dennis Clairmont
    Tribal Council, Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes
  • Amy Gannon
    Pest Management Specialist, Department of Natural Resources & Conservation
  • Leigh Greenwood
    Don't Move Firewood Campaign Manager, Nature Conservancy 
  • Dennis Longknife
    Climate Change Coordinator, Fort Belknap Indian Community
  • Jane Mangold
    Noxious Weed Specialist, MSU-Extension
  • Kim Mangold
    Deputy Director, Department of Agriculture
  • Bob Cloninger
    Maintenance, Department of Transportation
  • Laurie Shafter
    Water Quality Specialist, Fort Peck Assiniboine & Sioux Tribes
  • Jan Stoddard
    Industry Services & Outreach Bureau ChiefDepartment of Commerce 
  • Steve Tyrrel
    Integrated Ag. Services, Vice President/CEO
  • Alec Underwood
    Western Montana Field Rep, Montana WIldlife Federation
  • Andy Welch
    Hydropower Compliance Specialist, Northwestern Energy
  • Jo Demontiney, Jr.
    Tribal Council, Chippewa Cree Tribe
  • Gail Whiteman 
    Crow Tribe of Indians, Land Management
  • Vacancies: 
    Blackfeet Nation
    Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians
    Northern Cheyenne Tribe

Federal Agency Partners

  • Gary Adams
    U.S. Dept of Agriculture, APHIS
  • Jeff Baumberger
    U.S. Bureau of Reclamation 
  • Steve Bekedam
    Yellowstone National Park 
  • Patricia Gilbert
    U.S. Army Corp. of Engineers
  • Lynn Hurst
    U.S. Customs and Border Protection
  • Monica Pokorny
    U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Svs
  • Michelle Cox
    U.S. Bureau of Land Management
  • Bill Sparklin
    U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
  • Chip Weber
    U.S. Forest Service

MISC Committees

The Montana Invasive Species Council (MISC) hosts several committees and working groups to further its work and to provide a central point for coordination of statewide coordination of invasive species issues or functions. MISC committees are not decision-making bodies but rather provide specific scientific and technical expertise to aid the full Council in making decisions.
For more information on a specific committee, contact the committee chair listed below.
  • Executive Committee

    Overview: MISC’s executive committee meets every other other Tuesday at 8:30 a.m. to coordinate and track Council activities, plan upcoming meetings, address emerging and timely issues. 

  • Education & Outreach
    Overview: MISC’s E&O Committee was established to coordinate and promote invasive species information between natural resource managers, scientists, educators, policy makers, stakeholders and the public.
  • Data Management
    Overview: The committee facilitates the development, implementation, and enhancement of data sharing for invasive species.
  • Tree Pest
    Chair: vacant, contact 
    Overview: Serves primarily as an information sharing body between multiple parties that have a role in tree pests issues throughout Montana. Tree Pest Network Organizations
  • Firewood

    Overview: Pathway-based Committee that focuses on preventing the spread of invasive species through the movement of firewood. 

  • Invasive Woody Trees
    Chair: Overview: A statewide network to coordinate and share research and best practices for invasive woody tree species such as salt cedar and Russian olive.
Contact Us:

Stephanie Criswell
MISC Coordinator

Meeting Schedule

September 3, 2020 ~ Virtual via zoom
agenda | meeting materials
instructions for public participation

December 2, 2020 ~ Helena