Text Size minus sign plus sign

Commissions & Committees

Board of Oil & Gas Commission

The board consists of seven members, three of whom shall be from the oil & gas industry and have had at least 3 years' experience in the production of oil and gas, and two of whom shall be landowners residing in oil- or gas-producing counties of the state but not actively associated with the oil & gas industry, but one of the two landowners shall be one who owns the mineral rights with the surface and the other shall be one who does not own the mineral rights. (MCA Section 2-15-3303)

Board Members


Governor's Drought Advisory Committee

Governor's Drought Advisory Committee meeting schedule, minutes, and agenda for the next meeting.

The Montana Grass Commission

Mission: "To provide for the conservation, protection, restoration, and proper utilization of grass, forage and range resources of the State of Montana"

Commission Members

Jeff Willmore
7665 US Hwy 191 N
Roy, MT 59471

Bill Kennedy
281 Speelmon Creek Road
Ekalaka, MT 59324

Steve Barnard
1078 Upper Frenchman Road
Hinsdale, MT 59241

Mr. Alvin Windy Boy SR
5776 Haystack Road
Box Elder, MT 59521

W.E. "Sonny" Orbrecht
P.O. Box 156
Turner, MT 59542

Sandra K. Brown
Executive Vice President
P.O. Box 622
Terry, MT 59349


Rangeland Resources Executive Committee

Rangeland Resource Coordination meeting schedule, minutes, and agenda for the next meeting.

The program receives guidance from the Rangeland Resource Executive Committee, is composed of six ranchers located across the state and appointed by the governor. Members include:

Les Gilman, Chairman, Alder
John Hollenback, Gold Creek, Vice Chair
Steve Hedstrom, Raynesford
Diane Ahlgren, Winnett
Noel Keogh, Nye
Connie Iversen, Culbertson


Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission

Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission's meeting schedule, minutes, and agenda for the next meeting.

The Compact Commission is composed of nine appointed members:

Senator Debby Barrett Montana Senate
Senator Dick Barrett Montana Senate
Dorothy Bradley Governor
Mark DeBruyker Governor
Gene Etchart Governor
Richard Kirn Governor
Rep. Daniel Salomon Montana House of Representatives
Chris Tweeten, Chairman Montana Attorney General
Representative Kathleen Williams Montana House of Representatives

Commission members are organized into teams which negotiate with federal or tribal representatives.


Resource Conservation Advisory Council

Rangeland Resource Coordination meeting schedule, minutes, and agenda for the next meeting.

RCAC Members

  • Pete Dallaserra
  • Robert Fossum
  • Marieanne Hanser
  • Lauraine Johnson
  • Buzz Mattelin
  • O. Ramsey Offerdal
  • Dave Schwarz

Advisory Members

  • Ray Beck
  • Jay Bodner
  • Jim Darling
  • Mary Sexton
  • Joyce Swartzendruber

State Land Board

State trust lands are managed by the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) Trust Land Management Division. Timber, surface, and mineral resources are managed for the benefit of the common schools and the other endowed institutions in Montana, under the direction of the State Board of Land Commissioners.

The board consists of Montana's five top elected officials.

St. Mary's Working Group

The Working Group is made up of 16 volunteer members representing irrigation, Blackfeet Tribe, and Ft. Belknap Indian Community, municipalities, recreation/fisheries, economic development, and county government. Lt. Governor John Bohlinger and Mr. Randy Reed of Chinook Montana serve as Co-chairs. The Working Group meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month in various Hi-line communities. All meetings are open to the public.

Membership List

St. Mary Rehabilitation Working Group
Lt. Governor John Walsh & Randy Reed, Co-Chairs

Name Affiliation Representing
Gary Anderson Citizen Chinook City Council
Jennifer Brandon Irrigation Milk River Joint Board of Control
Mike Barthel Montana Walleyes Unlimited Recreation
Michael DesRosier Glacier County Commissioner Glacier County
Wade Engstrom Business Two Rivers Economic Growth
Wade Jones Irrigation Malta Irrigation Dist
Marko Manoukian Phillips County Extension Service Phillips County Economic Growth Council
Matt McCann Irrigator Irrigation
Gerald Lunak Wildland Fire Management-Weed Implementation Leader Blackfeet Tribe
Wes Pankratz Irrigator Glasgow District/Milk River Joint Board of Control
Dave Peterson Public Works Director Municipal Water Supply Havre, Chinook, Harlem
Dolores Plumage Blaine County Commissioner Blaine County
Randy Reed Milk River Project Development Assn Milk River Project Development Association
Randy Perez Director, Water Resources Ft. Belknap Indian Community
Paul Tuss Director, Bear Paw Development Corp Economic Development


Comments or questions? Contact DNRC Public Information Office, or a board member listed above.


Dept. of Natural Resources & Conservation
1625 Eleventh Ave.
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 444-2074
Fax: (406) 444-2684